Call for Nominations: FME Fellowship Award

FME Fellowship Award

Established in 2015 and normally given every three years for technical achievements in advancing, applying, and promoting formal methods, the Formal Methods Europe (FME) Fellowship rewards scientific breakthroughs and pioneering work that have made a difference to the world through advances in formal methods. This includes contributions in the following areas:

  • Solid theoretical work
  • Development of frameworks and tools
  • Teaching formal methods
  • Industrial applications
  • Publicising formal methods worldwide and attracting people to the community

The recipient of the fellowship will clearly have made a difference in one or more of these areas, and this will be supported by concrete evidence.

The FME Awards Committee (named below) will take nominations from FME members and make a recommendation to the FME Board. The chosen nominee (who need not be a member of FME) is invited to attend the FME symposium, when he or she will be presented with the award, including a certificate and a medal, and be invited to present an account of their work.

The third decennial World Congress in Formal Methods will be held in 2019, replacing the regular symposium. A special FME fellowship will be awarded to mark this occasion.

The first two FME fellows were Cliff Jones and Manfred Broy, both of whom have made important contributions to formal methods with a strong emphasis on successful industrial applications.

Call for nominations

FME is currently accepting nominations from FME members for the 2019 fellowship, which will be presented during FM 2019 in Porto, 7th-11th October 2019. Every nomination must include the following:

  • Name of nominee
  • Nominee’s affiliation
  • Summary of why this candidate should be awarded the FME Fellowship
  • Concrete evidence
  • Names and affiliations of at least two nominators

We strongly recommend that sufficient evidence is provided to make the best case for the nominee to be given the award. The awards committee will review this evidence, but will not add to it.

The nomination should be sent to by 15th December 2018.

If you are not a member of FME, but would like to make a nomination, you can join FME simply by filling in the online form available at Membership is free of charge.

FME Awards Committee

Author: Einar Broch Johnsen