FME Fellowship

Dear Colleague,

The FME Board is pleased to announce the creation of the FME Fellowship, a distinction that will be awarded approximately every three years, during an FME symposium, to researchers and practitioners of formal methods.

Given in recognition of technical achievements in advancing, applying, and promoting formal methods, the fellowship rewards scientific breakthroughs and pioneering work that have made a difference to the world through advances in formal methods. This includes contributions in the following areas:

  • Solid theoretical work.
  • Development of frameworks and tools.
  • Teaching formal methods.
  • Industrial applications.
  • Publicising formal methods worldwide and attracting people to the community.

The recipient of the fellowship will clearly have made a difference in one or more of these areas, and this will be supported by concrete evidence.

The FME Awards Committee (named below) will take nominations from FME members and make a recommendation to the FME Board. The chosen nominee will be invited to attend the FME symposium, when he or she will be presented with the award, including a certificate and a medal, and be invited to present an account of their work.

The first award will be made during FM 2015 and we are

currently accepting nominations from members. A nomination should include the following:

  • Name of nominee.
  • Nominee’s affiliation.
  • Summary of why this candidate should be awarded the FME Fellowship.
  • Pointers to concrete evidence.

The nomination should be sent to by Monday 2nd March 2015.

If you are not a member of FME, but would like to make a nomination, you can join FME simply by filling in the membership application form and sending it to Membership is free of charge.

Best wishes,

FME Board

[FME Awards Committee:
Colin O’Halloran (DRisQ)
Augusto Sampaio (Federal University of Pernambuco)
Erik de Vink (Technical University of Eindhoven)
Heike Wehrheim (University of Paderborn)
Jim Woodcock (University of York, chair)
Pamela Zave (AT&T Laboratories)
Naijun Zhan (Chinese Academy of Sciences)]

Author: Bernhard Aichernig