FormaliSE 2018

The 6th Conference on Formal Methods in Software Engineering, FormaliSE 2018, was organized as a one-day event in Gothenburg, Sweden on 2nd June. The event was attended by roughly 50 researchers, including people from industry as well as academia in the area of Formal Verification from around the globe. The conference began with a welcome to the FormaliSE community by PC co-chairs Paola Spoletini and Patrizio Pelliccione, followed by a keynote given by Mariëlle Stoelinga (Radboud University Nijmegen & University of Twente, the Netherlands). In addition to the presentation and discussion of scientific papers, there was a session where four students from different Universities from around the world presented their works in “Pecha Kucha” format.


The proceedings of the conference were published as part of the ICSE 2018 Workshop Proceedings in the ACM and IEEE Digital Libraries.


Pictures taken during the day can be downloaded here.


08:45: Welcome [slides]

09:00: Keynote presentation: Risk management of high tech systems. Mariëlle Stoelinga (University of Twente).

10:00: Session 1 - Formal Methods for Autonomous Systems 1

  • Formal Verification of Complex Robotic Systems on Resource-Constrained Platforms. Mohammed Foughali, Bernard Berthomieu, Silvano Dal Zilio, Pierre-Emmanuel Hladik, Félix Ingrand and Anthony Mallet (LAAS-CNRS) [slides]


10:30: Coffee break

11:00: Session 2 - Runtime verification

  • Extending Specification Patterns for Verification of Parametric Traces. Yoann Blein, Yves Ledru, Lydie Du Bousquet and Roland Groz (Laboratoire d'Informatique de Grenoble - Université Grenoble Alpes, LIG).
  • Runtime Verification of Hyperproperties for Deterministic Programs. Srinivas Pinisetty, Gerardo Schneider and David Sands (Chalmers | University of Gothenburg) [slides]
  • Testing Meets Static and Runtime Verification. Jesus Mauricio Chimento, Wolfgang Ahrendt and Gerardo Schneider (Chalmers | University of Gothenburg) [slides]


12:30: Lunch

13:45: Student presentations: selected students gave brief overview presentations of their research work, in "Pecha Kucha" style. They were:

  • Stéphanie Challita (University of Lille, INRIA Lillle) [slides]

  • Ridhi Jain (IIIT Delhi) [slides]

  • Wenji Quan (Lero, Trinity College Dublin) [slides]

  • Casper Thule (Aarhus University) [slides]


14:15: Session 3 - Program Verification and Application

  • CIL to Java-bytecode Translation for Static Analysis Leveraging. Pietro Ferrara, Agostino Cortesi and Spoto Fausto (JuliaSoft SRL, Universita' Ca' Foscari di Venezia, Universita' di Verona) [slides]. This contribution won the "Distinguished Paper Award".
  • Modeling Time in Java Programs for Automatic Error Detection. Giovanni Liva, Muhammad Taimoor Khan, Francesco Spegni, Luca Spalazzi, Andreas Bollin and Martin Pinzger (Alpen-Adria University, Klagenfurt, Universita' Politecnica delle Marche, University of Klagenfurt) [slides]
  • Domain-specific Design of Patient Classification in Cancer-related Cachexia Research (short paper). Alexander Wickert, Anna-Lena Lamprecht and Tiziana Margaria (University of Potsdam, Utrecht University, University of Limerick and Lero - The Irish Software Research Center) [slides]


15:30: Tea break

16:00: Session 4 - Formal Methods for Autonomous Systems 2

  • Self-Adaptive Automata. Aimee Borda and Vasileios Koutavas (Trinity College Dublin) [slides]
  • Formal Verification of an Autonomous Wheel Loader by Model Checking. Rong Gu, Raluca Marinescu, Cristina Seceleanu and Kristina Lundqvist (Mälardalen University) [slides]
  • Formal verification of automotive embedded software (short paper). Vassil Todorov, Frédéric Boulanger and Safouan Taha (Groupe PSA, CentraleSupélec) [slides]


17:15: End of FormaliSE 2018

From left to right: Nico Plat, Stefania Gnesi, Mariëlle Stoelinga, Patrizio Pelliccione, Paola Spoletini

PC Chairs

PC Chairs for FormaliSE 2018 were:

  • Paola Spoletini, (Kennesaw State University, USA)
  • Patrizio Pelliccione, (University of Gothenburg | Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)

Programme Committee

  • Alessandro Cimatti (Fondazione Bruno Kessler, Italy)
  • Ana Cavalcanti (University of York, UK)
  • Andreas Bollin (University of Klagenfurt, Austria)
  • Antonella Santone (University of Sannio, Italy)
  • Carlo Alberto Furia (Chalmers, Sweden)
  • Christel Baier (Technische Universität Dresden, Germany)
  • Claudio Menghi (University of Gothenburg, Sweden)
  • Dalal Alrajeh (Imperial College, UK)
  • Domenico Bianculli (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
  • Einar Broch Johnsen (Oslo University, Norway)
  • Elena Troubitsyna (Abo University, Finland)
  • Ewen Denney (SGT/NASA Ames, USA)
  • Fatiha Zaidi (LRI/CNRS, France)
  • Gerardo Schneider (Chalmers, Sweden)
  • Hernán Melgratti (University of Buenos Aires)
  • Jana Tumova (KTH, Sweden)
  • Juergen Dingel (Queen's University, Canada)
  • Jun Sun (Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore)
  • Keijiro Araki (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Kirsten Winter (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Liliana Pasquale (Lero, Ireland)
  • Marie-Christine Jakobs (Paderborn University, Germany)
  • Marieke Huisman (University of Twente, The Netherlands)
  • Matteo Rossi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Maurice ter Beek (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
  • Michael Whalen (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Nancy Day (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Peter Gorm Larsen (Aarhus University, Denmark)
  • Rahul Purandare (IIIT Delhi, India)
  • Rosemary Monahan (Maynooth University, Ireland)
  • Simon Bliudze (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Virginie Wiels (Onera, France)

Organizing Committee

Organizing Committee members for FormaliSE 2018: