Call for Nominations: FME Fellowship Award 2021

FME Fellowship Award

The nominations should be sent to by 31st JANUARY 2021.

Established in 2015 and normally given every three years for technical achievements in advancing, applying, and promoting formal methods, the Formal Methods Europe (FME) Fellowship rewards scientific breakthroughs and pioneering work that have made a difference to the world through advances in formal methods.

Nominees are expected to have made significant contributions through solid theoretical work or practical impact in industry. The development of frameworks and tools, teaching formal methods, as well as publicising formal methods worldwide and attracting people to the community are additional criteria that can strengthen a nomination. All nominations have to be supported by concrete evidence.

The FME Awards Committee (named below) will take nominations from FME members and make a recommendation to the FME Board. The chosen nominee (who need not be a member of FME) is invited to attend the FME symposium, when he or she will be presented with the award, including a certificate and a medal, and be invited to present an account of their work.

The first three FME fellows were Cliff Jones, Manfred Broy, and José Meseguer; the three of them have made important contributions to formal methods with a strong emphasis on successful industrial applications.

The fourth Award will be made during 2021 and we are currently accepting nominations from members.

Call for Nominations

FME is currently accepting nominations from FME members for the 2021 fellowship, which will be presented during FM 2021 (7th-11th November 2021). Every nomination must include the following:

  • Name of nominee
  • Nominee’s affiliation
  • Summary of why this candidate should be awarded the FME Fellowship
  • Concrete evidence
  • Names and affiliations of at least two nominators

We strongly recommend that sufficient evidence is provided to make the best case for the nominee to be given the award. The awards committee will review this evidence, but will not add to it.

Nominations will remain valid for two additional rounds and should be sent to by 31st JANUARY 2021.

If you are not a member of FME, but would like to make a nomination, you can join FME simply by filling in the online form available at Membership is free of charge.

FME Awards Committee

Author: Einar Broch Johnsen