FME Fellowship Award

FME Fellowship Award

Given every three years for technical achievements in advancing, applying, and promoting formal methods, the FME fellowship rewards scientific breakthroughs and pioneering work that have made a difference to the world through advances in formal methods. This includes contributions in the following areas:

  • Solid theoretical work.
  • Development of frameworks and tools.
  • Teaching formal methods.
  • Industrial applications.
  • Publicising formal methods worldwide and attracting people to the community.

The recipient of the fellowship will clearly have made a difference in one or more of these areas, and this will be supported by concrete evidence.

The FME Awards Committee (named below) will take nominations from FME members and make a recommendation to the FME Board. The chosen nominee will be invited to attend the FME symposium, when he or she will be presented with the award, including a certificate and a medal, and be invited to present an account of their work.

The first FME fellow was Cliff Jones, who received his award during FM 2015 (more information here). Jones is one of the world’s most distinguished computer scientists, with an outstanding international reputation for his research and leadership in the discipline, where he has a unique record of major contributions to academia, to industry, to policy, and of service.

Call for nominations

FME is currently accepting nominations from members for the 2018 fellowship, which will be presented during FM 2018 in Oxford in July 2018. A nomination should include the following:

  • Name of nominee.
  • Nominee’s affiliation.
  • Summary of why this candidate should be awarded the FME Fellowship.
  • Pointers to concrete evidence.
  • Names and affiliations of at least two nominators.

The nomination should be sent to by December 1, 2017.

If you are not a member of FME, but would like to make a nomination, you can join FME simply by filling in the online form available at Membership is free of charge.

FME Awards Committee

Author: Einar Broch Johnsen