FormSERA 2012
Formal Methods in Software Engineering: Rigorous and Agile Approaches Workshop on Saturday 2 June 2012, Zurich, Switzerland Held in conjunction with ICSE 2012 (

The FormSERA workshop addresses the use formal methods in software development practice. Formal methods differ from many software engineering techniques in that they demand and exploit a mathematically rigorous semantic basis for the tools and notations used. Such sound foundations permit the analysis as well as synthesis and sound transformation of software engineering artifacts to a depth, and with a degree of automation, that is otherwise impossible to achieve.

Ample studies show that formal techniques can be used in industrial settings, given careful and tool-supported application. However, the maturing of formal techniques into real-life software engineering involves providing notations and tools that are readily understood and used by practitioners, and actually help practitioners become more efficient, get better quality or more easily adapt their software to changing requirements.

Examples are use of formal methods in conjunction with structured requirements analysis and modeling, programming practices, test technology, compositional and aspect-oriented techniques. Areas of interest for the workshop include but are not limited to:

  • Formal methods in the context of agile approaches
  • Formal methods in requirement elicitation and  analysis
  • Formal specification and design
  • Automation through formal methods
  • Synthesis of software artifacts
  • Formal methods in testing, re-engineering and reuse
  • Formal methods in software verification
  • Formal methods in a Certification Context
  • Model-based development
  • Light-weight formal methods


Submitted papers are limited to 7 pages in IEEE Conference Proceedings Format. They will be published as part of the (electronic) proceedings of ICSE 2012. All papers submitted to the workshop must be unpublished original work and should not be under review or submitted elsewhere while being under consideration. All submissions must be in English and in PDF format through online upload to the workshop submission website at the following URL:

[ ]{}

All submissions will be reviewed by three PC members. They will be judged on the basis of their clarity, relevance, originality, and contribution.

Important Dates (mandatory):
17 February 2012: submission deadline for workshop papers
19 March 2012: notification of acceptance/rejection to workshop papers authors
29 March 2012: camera ready copy deadline for workshop papers
2 June 2012: FormSERA workshop held in Zurich, Switzerland

Organizing Committee:
Stefania Gnesi (ISTI-CNR, Italy)
Stefan Gruner (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
Nico Plat (West Consulting BV, The Netherlands)
Bernhard Rumpe (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

The organising committee can be reached via e-mail: If you intend to submit a paper you are encouraged to inform us in advance.

Program Committee:
Yamine Ait-Ameur (IRIT/ENSEEIH, France)
Scott Ambler (IBM, Canada)
Gogul Balakrishnan (NEC Labs, USA)
Manfred Broy  (Munich University of Technology, Germany)
Marsha Chechik (University of Toronto, Canada)
Juergen Dingel (Queen’s University, Canada)
Patrick Heymans (University of Namur, Belgium, and INRIA, France)
Alessandro Fantechi (University of Florence, Italy)
Mike Hinchey (Lero, Ireland)
Axel van Lamsweerde (University of Louvain, Belgium)
Peter Gorm Larsen (Engineering College of Aarhus, Denmark)
Thierry Lecomte (ClearSy, France)
Shaoying Liu (Hosei University, Japan)
Antónia Lopes (University of Lisbon, Portugal)
Michael Löwe (Fachhochschule fuer die Wirtschaft Hannover, Germany)
Tiziana Margaria (Potsdam University, Germany)
Steve Riddle (University of Newcastle, UK)
Matteo Rossi (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Bernhard Schätz (fortiss, Germany)
Wolfram Schulte (Microsoft, USA)
Chandrasekaran Subramaniam (Rajalakshmi Engineering College, Chennai, India)
Elena Troubitsyna (Abo University, Finland)
Sebastián Uchitel (Imperial College and Universidad de Buenos Aires, UK and Argentina)
Willem Visser (University of Stellenbosch, South Africa)
Bartosz Walter (Poznan University of Technology, Poland)
Fatiha Zaïdi (LRI/CNRS, France)

Workshop website:
Check the workshop website for the latest information:

Author: Bernhard Aichernig